Hello world!

Umm…hi….is this thing on?

Alright, so I’ve used the highly unoriginal auto-fill title for my first entry.  But really, how much more appropriate can you get?   Hello world.  That is exactly what I’m trying to say here.  Hello world, indeed.  I’ve been a semi-closeted blogger for quite some time now.  Six years to be exact, as long as I’ve lived in this grand ole’ city.  Six years ago I moved from tiny College Station, TX to the chaos of Avenue C and didn’t know which way was up (hence the need for a cyber space in which to emotionally vomit).  I probably still don’t know which way is up, but now at least feel like I do, which is half the battle.

All that to say, I thought it was time for a change.  New blog.  New site.  New name.  New, new, new.  A couple of years ago, I read a book called Velvet Elvis written by a pastor named Rob Bell.  In one part, he talks about realizing what a split person he has become, letting others’ expectations take over his life at the expense of being less of himself:

I had this person I knew I was made to be, yet it was mixed in with all of these other…people.

I meet so many people who have superwhatever rattling around in their head.  They have this person they are convinced they are supposed to be, and their superwhatever is killing them.  They have this image they picked up over the years of how they are supposed to look and act and work and play and talk, and it’s like a voice that never stops shouting in their ear.

And the only way to not be killed by it is to shoot first….

So that’s what this blog is.  A chance for me and you to put those voices to rest, keep it real and remember who we are.  I often feel the “split”, and writing has always been a means of connecting with the side that’s true, unapologetic, authentic, uncouth, creative…me.   Perhaps you can relate.

Sometimes I have deep stuff to say.  Sometimes I just want to post a picture of the new dress I bought.  Either way, this isn’t a one-sided conversation, so don’t be a comment stranger.  And if you’re new to all this bloggy mcblogger stuff, I’ll make it even easier and pose some questions for you to answer.

Here’s to not trying so hard.

Here’s to killing superwoman (or man…or whatever).

4 thoughts on “Hello world!

Add yours

  1. I love the generic blog entry title and the generic comment above.

    I also love this blog! And am so excited to read all the musings from a very insightful, funny, and talented superwoman (i mean that in a good way).

    Like

  2. Good on ya’, JP! The Mrs. and I can appreciate (and are also dealing with) the tremendous expectation you put on yourself when you flip the page.

    Even if you feel like this blog is technology enabling you to be the proverbial drunk punching at the wind, it’s important to see your thoughts/fears/concerns in front of your eyes. Getting clarity on those things also helps you to recognize the triumphs. You don’t have to leap those high expectations in a single bound. You can reach them by climbing the accumulation of your triumphs — big and small, obvious to the world and emotionally relevant only to you .

    I will add my own quote (well, quoted passage) to the conversation. Per one of my favorite writers, Kurt Vonnegut:

    ‘Celeste and her friends are back in school, and she asked me this morning what I knew about the Universe. She has to write a theme about it.
    “Why ask me?” I said.
    “You read The New York Times every day,” she said.
    So I told her that the Universe began as an eleven-pound strawberry which exploded at seven minutes past midnight three trillion years ago.
    “I’m serious!” she said.
    “All I can tell you is what I read in The New York Times,” I said.’

    It’s a big universe. Being yourself is a sublime thing. But don’t feel like you have to take it so seriously all the time.

    -PSiz

    Like

  3. Oh wise godfather P Siz, thanks so much for your insights…and the Vonnegut quote. It’s people like you who give me that extra push I need.

    Remember that time we worked in the same building and had rooftop lunches with Michelle? Ahhh…good times.

    Like

  4. A new blog I didn’t know about! How were your European travels?? I talked to your brother on the phone the other day for awhile…he never answered my emails so I tricked him with a skype call on his cell. haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

