Good Words

Some poems that have come across my various inboxes as of late which have given inspiration in this time of endings and new beginnings:

From the Navajo Beauty Way Ceremony

In beauty may I walk
All day long may I walk
Through the returning seasons may I walk
Beautifully I will possess again
Beautifully birds
Beautifully joyful birds
On the trail marked with pollen may I walk
With grasshoppers about my feet may I walk
With dew about my feet may I walk
With beauty may I walk
With beauty before me may I walk
With beauty behind me may I walk
With beauty above me may I walk
With beauty all around me may I walk
In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, lively, may I walk
In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, living again, may I walk
It is finished in beauty
It is finished in beauty

This is a poem written by my classmate Danielle:

“I am a contradiction”

In my sleep I was thinking that
I will always never have enough
That living dead is tough
My softness is too rough
Too little is too much
If I let go I will hold a grudge
My faith is my luck
My faith is my luck
My faith is my luck
I see lightning hasn’t struck
I hate my love
I am an ancient black dove
I move really fast
when I am not in a rush
speeding very slowly
Half empty
Yet still holy
You can rent and own me
My nude is my clothing
Too many people,
makes me feel lonely

But I run to walk alone
Outside my house
I find home
In the open my
heart is closed
The unknown is known
And I am the real clone

Independently dependent
Expensively inexpensive
Honestly pretentious
Few thoughts tremendous
I’m beginning to end this
Repentance is my vengeance
Security in neglegeance

I’m at war with my peace
My sanity is calamity
My nourishment is unhealthy
My wealth is unwealthy
There is no fold at the crease
All lines to be crossed
All that is found has
been found lost

My dullness is too sharp
I finish when I start
I hate with my heart
So dumb I’m too smart
I aim with no dart
So on point I’m off target
The end starts where I started
Too loving I’m coldhearted
So special I’m retarded

I’s dotting themselves
I place myself high on the bottom shelf
Cuz I was taught not to learn
To care with no concern
Not to listen to be heard
Letters don’t make words
Adjectives are verbs
And that love really hurts

Common sense doesn’t count
When in doubt don’t doubt
What you put in don’t put out
I am still lost and found

My bitter tastes sweet
I’ve stolen what’s given to me
I am an honest thief
The Indian chief
I stand on my knees
I fly with no wings
I pray on my feet
I greet you with no speech
No welcome in your please
Leave your return
Because your fire is not
hot enough to burn

I,
So flavorful and bland
So large its not grand
I over understand
I under over plan
I love a boyishly man
Don’t seek knowledge from a plastic can
I write with a fingerless hand
I do the things that I can’t

My safety lies in danger
A friend in the stranger
A lover in the hater
Rape the raper
Save the savior
Your job is a favor
Paying fees with a waiver
Disclaiming all disclaimers
My calm is in anger
My minor is my major

I drink my water dry
My truth is a lie
I have cries that don’t tear
What scares me I don’t fear
By far I am near
Middle of the edge
I vow to not pledge
To wrong my right
not battle in a fight
To argue in silence
Follow rules with noncompliance
Make justice with defiance
Rejoice with somber
excitement

My unhappiness is happy
Exactly not exactly
Hate on me to be smitten
When I have fallen I have risen
Broke free from barless prisons
No diction in what I have written
The sense of my contradiction

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

