Gravity

My latest and greatest…

I am grown now
But your words stake claim in me
My face hidden behind your history

How could this be?
So many years to uncover
What’s been oppressing me

I wear your woes
Like genetic code
Like boulders for a heart
Like a lineage of penance that I must perform

Your damage is deep
And your blood on my hands
Became the drumming in my chest
And the loss of breath

And the loss of voice

But I am speaking now
With trembling tremors
With sideways glances
Sucked into your gravity
But on my way out

Trapped
Your power is too much for me
Too much
too much
too much for me

Leave a Reply

