Unseen

Happy new year, folks.  I just started a fresh page in my Doogie Howser style computer journal.  I stared at the blank screen and immediately closed it.  I figure if I have anything to say, I may as well share it with some people.  My friend and I had a conversation about this recently.  She doesn’t understand why people need the public forum of a blog to write.  Writing on this thing makes me feel like I’m not alone in the universe.  I can’t see or hear you.  You may not even read this, but I know you’re there.  And that is a beautiful thing.

I’ve been pondering my faith life lately, re-reading this one chapter in Tozer’s The Pursuit of God.  He says:
The visible becomes the enemy of the invisible; the temporal, of the eternal.  That is the curse inherited by Adam’s tragic race.  At the root of the Christian faith lies belief in the invisible.  The object of the Christian’s faith is unseen reality. 

He understands how absolutely crazy the idea of faith is.  Belief.  But somehow he’s on board.  And that is where I teeter.  I wish he would tell me more.  There should be a how-to manual after a statement like that.  I think I waver for lack of trust in my own mind.  I think God is real, but I was also the last kid to stop believing in Santa Claus (I mostly blame The Polar Express for that).  So I often wonder if I just inherently want to believe in something higher or if God is actually real.  Or both.  Or does it even matter that much?  Has anyone else been at that tipping point of faith?  Which way did you jump and why?

Leave a Reply

